Timeline for finding an internship/full-time job

My Story #

I came into college having worked as a cashier, a Human Resources assistant, and various other clerical roles. I had no experience applying and interviewing for a technical internship or job. My first technical internship in college was fall semester of my fourth year. These are some pointers based on my own experiences, so you don’t have to suffer like I did. There is some existing literature out there, should you care to read it.

May - August #

Use the summer to bulk up your resume

September #

If possible, reach out to people in your network who have interned/are working full-time at companies you would like to work for so that they can refer you. More often than not, this is the surest and easiest way to get an interview. Otherwise…

This is necessary/good because:

September - November #

Participate in on-campus recruiting (OCR)/the interviewing process

November - December #

Follow this guide, and you will hopefully be employed before your spring semester/winter quarter begins.

 
5
Kudos
 
5
Kudos

Now read this

Traveling in the UK/France

Book your train tickets in advance—always: thetrainline.com (UK) UK # London # Lodging # Dawson Place in London, England Food # CASK Gastropub: good food, good selection of beers on tap Dishoom: best Indian food I’ve ever had Four... Continue →